16 April 2017

WELFARE - Animal Welfare Heroes Recognized at National Conference

At the 2017 Canadian Federation of Humane Societies (CFHS) National Animal Welfare Conference, they celebrated Canada’s 150 birthday and the 60th anniversary of CFHS.

The CFHS 60th Anniversary Awards Gala at the Shaw Centre in Ottawa honoured the animal heroes that dedicate their lives to creating a more humane Canada.

Dr. David Suzuki was the keynote speaker and presented with the Frederic McGrand Lifetime Leadership in Animal Welfare Award for his decades of work for animals and the environment.

Individuals and organizations from across Canada were presented with CFHS Animal Welfare Leadership and Innovation Awards for their work in public engagement, corporate social responsibility, farm animal welfare, humane legislation and cooperation in emergency response.

The Fort McMurray wildfires resulted in a number of organizations coming together to help animals in crisis and as a result the following organizations were presented with the award for cooperation in emergency response:
Alberta Animal Rescue Crew Society
Alberta Spay/Neuter Task Force
Alberta SPCA
Alberta Veterinary Medical Association
Calgary Humane Society
Central Alberta Humane Society (formerly Red Deer & District SPCA)
Edmonton Humane Society
Fort McMurray SPCA
Meika's Birdhouse
Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo

Other winners of the 2017 CFHS Animal Welfare Leadership and Innovation Awards were:

Public Engagement:
Edmonton Humane Society

Corporate Social Responsibility:
PetSmart Canada
PetSmart Charities of Canada

Farm Animal Welfare:
Geoff Urton (BC SPCA)
Dr. Ian Duncan (University of Guelph)

Humane Legislation:
Honourable Wilfred P. Moore, Q.C.

No comments:

Post a Comment